just breathe

It has been a really intense semester.  

I say this every semester.  The statement has almost lost its meaning and impact.  I need to come to terms with the idea that chaos is the natural order of things, and my role is to find stability… stillness… in the chaos.

sthira-sukham-āsanam

This is my favorite line from Patanjali’s Yoga Sutras.  It loosely translates to finding stability/strength/motionless, with ease, in whatever seat you are in.  It is the answer, and the source of my question, How do I find stability and stillness in the chaos?

IMG_4776Today, I am finding that stability by working outside- and by focusing on only the breath that I inhale, and the one that I exhale.  Interrupted by the thoughts of budget, staffing, laundry piling up, groceries not done, dinner not made, conference presentation not done, and, and, and, and… I am trying to pause.  Interrupt those thoughts- honor those thoughts- but still focusing on the breath- coming in… going out.  This is such a difficult practice for me, and yet I find such clarity in the stillness.  Each moment I try to come to acceptance that the only constant is chaos- it is not special- it is normal.

What would my relationship and service to the world feel like if I treated chaos like a normal event, rather than an event that disrupts my normal.  What if I gave chaos the love and respect it deserved?

Wishing all of you stillness in your seats…  one breath at a time.

2 thoughts on “just breathe”

Leave a Reply

